1 2 3
SteveDallas
SteveDallas New Reader
12/15/16 10:56 a.m.

I have read forums and otherwise researched this topic to the point of analysis paralysis and need some expert guidance. When it comes to Internet advice, I work with the assumption that 80% of what I read is baloney, but it is impossible to know which 80%. Hopefully, my fellow GRM folks have more actual knowledge and less Internet bravado on tap. Anyway, I'll try to keep it short.

I am an HPDE instructor, who just bought a mint 2003 Miata LS (no ABS) with low miles, and I want to set it up for 12 to 18 HPDE events per year plus driving to and from the track, some weekend cruising, and the occasional Friday commute to work in nice weather. It will not be used for any actual competition. Basically, I want the mythical Skittles pooping unicorn: as fast as possible on the track, while compliant enough on the street to be reasonably enjoyable. My budget for a set of coilovers is up to $2500, but less is better.

From what I can tell, there are two camps, when it comes to spring rates: stiffer is better (Xida (800), Feal (700), GWR (750), etc.) vs. just enough spring to do the job (FM (550), FCM (425), Ohlins (450), etc.).

The two main setups I have in mind at the moment are Xida and FM Fox. The suggested front spring for Xidas for a heavy NB2 is 800, which seems brutal, but reviews on this setup are positive--almost to the point of absurdity. FM Fox front spring is 550, which seems more reasonable in a vacuum. There are few solid reviews of FM Fox available that I can find. I can make either setup work according to the calculators I have used. Both companies appear to have valved their shocks appropriately for their goals, according to the dynos I have seen--with Xida being geared more toward hardcore track use, and FM Fox being geared more toward compromise between track and street.