1 2
Lof8 - Andy
Lof8 - Andy GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/26/21 10:49 a.m.

I've never done a hillclimb event before, but its been on my bucket list for years.  SCCA has announced an event in May in Kentucky.  Kentucky Hillclimb  I think I can talk swmbo in to making the journey with me if we take a couple days to explore in Nashville before the event and combine it with some "vacation" activities.  I've done several Champcar races, HPDE and been doing autocross and rallycross for years.  The safety requirements are pretty clear - looks like I'd need arm restrains and a fire extinguisher, but otherwise, my LS1 E36 meets the criteria. 

Do you guys have any advice for a hillclimb newbie, or tips for the Nashville or Pine Mountain, KY areas?

Apexcarver
Apexcarver UltimaDork
2/26/21 10:56 a.m.

Flagged a bunch of hillclimbs.

You have a cage and firesuit?  (just checking)

Crashes can be BAD. Trees, boulders, creekbeds...  all are going to eff up a car a lot worse than a tirewall and you wont even have the runoff room to bleed off speed before hitting. Temper your aggressiveness, I've seen a good number of cars written off, but luckily never a bad injury. 

Changing weather conditions have more teeth, one thing to massively observe is that even morning dew can make the painted lines on the road as slick as ice. I could slip my foot on it walking and I did observe a crash that I believe was caused by it. (we did radio in to control to warn drivers). 

Lof8 - Andy
2/26/21 11:08 a.m.

My car has a 4 point roll bar - which is all that's needed for the safety level 2 requirements.  I do have a firesuit.  The hillclimb environment is certainly more treacherous than a race track, and I'd intend to drive with a fair safety margin.  My main goal would be to get the car and myself home safely and being competitive would be a secondary goal.   I feel like hillclimb is a very cool and unique form of motorsport that I'd really like to experience.

bentwrench
bentwrench SuperDork