vazbmw
vazbmw New Reader
7/23/08 6:56 p.m.

Hi folks, I know I look like a newbie here but I am not. I lost all my stuff with the site switch over and resigned up with a new sign-in. I say that to gain some respect and keep the flames low. What I am looking for is advice on are v6’s. I know nothing about them. My experience is Toyota fours and BMW v8’s. Here is an outline of the project. I am in the very early stages of research: Car: BMW e34 Wagon that has a bad engine. Don’t have one that meets that description currently, but I sure I can pick one up for $2000k not running Target HP number: 450-400 @ 6000 rpms Torque figure: 450-550 lbs ft Engine options: Turbocharged v6 (downside: don’t know anything other than GNX, what other cheap v6 are there that are good to turbocharge?) Turbocharged v8 (downside: weight, size, expense, economy off boost) BMW straight 6 (downside: cost to turbocharge etc) Big 4 cylinder (downside: Don’t think I can get the power out in a reliable manner) Total budget: $6000 Any advice?

m4ff3w
m4ff3w GRM+ Memberand Dork
7/23/08 7:01 p.m.

How about Ford Thunderbird Supercoupe engine?

Came supercharged, shouldn't be to difficult to make it turbo.

jamscal
jamscal HalfDork
7/23/08 7:06 p.m.

Nissan vg30. Made a million of them. Turbo versions from the factory (vg30et) Very strong bottom end.

Nashco
Nashco Dork
7/23/08 7:17 p.m.

Why a turbo V6? Running with m4ff3w's comment, if you went with a supercharged engine I would suggest GM's 3800 long before a Grand National or Ford Supercoupe engine...they're much more modern engines with plenty of tweaks that have been done to keep with the times. One caveat, they're heavy...all iron block and heads makes it very robust but also a good anchor.