flexi
flexi New Reader
3/23/14 4:12 p.m.

Have a miata vvt head opened up and noticed that none of the valves have the classic 3 angle grind recommended by the FSM. Is this ok? There's just a one angle grind on both the valve and head. Is there any advantage to a single 45 degree cut? This will be for a turbocharged application.

Take to a machinist to fix, leave it and lap it, or look for a new head? I've never done a head before so I'm not quite sure what is ok or not.

Thanks

mr2peak
mr2peak GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
3/23/14 5:00 p.m.

3 angle should make more power. It's all about the $.

Zomby Woof
Zomby Woof PowerDork
3/23/14 5:15 p.m.

The other angles may be there, but you may not be able to see them, or recognize them. Multi angles are better for flow. You don't need it.

flexi
flexi New Reader
3/23/14 6:22 p.m.

In reply to Zomby Woof: There are vestiges of the angles on the head. Only 1 angle grind on the valves - even when held up to the light.

How much benefit might there be going with a 3 angle? Is it worth the $$$ given that there is a t3/t4 pushing air through the intake?

iceracer
iceracer PowerDork
3/23/14 6:31 p.m.

it's just one of those things you do when doing a valve job.

How much benefit can be debated.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy SuperDork
3/23/14 8:41 p.m.

I thought the way it was done is that there is one angle ground on the valve (the part that moves) and two or more angles ground, or cut, into the valve seat. I've never heard of more than one ground surface one the valve.

Also, if I understand correctly, most OEMs only do a two angle grind on the seats, but three or more is preferred for performance builds.

I've even heard of a seven angle valve job, but I have a hard time believing that is really beneficial. (Maybe on a giant big-block?)

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy UberDork
3/23/14 11:08 p.m.

I think it would be pretty rare to have more than one angle ground on the face of the valve. Seat, yes.

oldeskewltoy
oldeskewltoy Dork