1 2
kreb
kreb GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/25/09 6:01 p.m.

All this box flare talk has me thinking flares - but not the box kind. Does anyone make flares which could be cut and blended to match a variety of cars? Fiberglass would work too, but I like steel...

NOHOME
NOHOME New Reader
8/25/09 7:05 p.m.

Dodge Omni.

M030
M030 Reader
8/25/09 7:21 p.m.

Maybe Porsche 911 Turbo style flares. They are reproduced in steel and could possibly be adapted to anything with flat sides...in theory

Rusty_Rabbit84
Rusty_Rabbit84 Dork
8/25/09 8:03 p.m.

to add on, how do you get fiberglass to stick to metal? the answer will severely sway my decision on a very near future purchase...

kreb
kreb GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/25/09 8:05 p.m.

In reply to Rusty_Rabbit84:

I'm no expert, but I've had good results with marine grade epoxy adhering to steel.

zoomx2
zoomx2 Reader
8/25/09 8:13 p.m.
Rusty_Rabbit84 wrote: to add on, how do you get fiberglass to stick to metal? the answer will severely sway my decision on a very near future purchase...

Rivets and body filler.

Rusty_Rabbit84
Rusty_Rabbit84 Dork
8/25/09 8:17 p.m.

right on guys! I appreciate it...

porksboy
porksboy Dork
8/25/09 8:27 p.m.

Boddy filler and news paper

oldtin
oldtin New Reader
8/25/09 9:35 p.m.

rivets - evercoat has a fairly new kevlar filler that I'm hoping works good on the transition - but newspaper's good too

John Brown
John Brown GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/26/09 7:09 a.m.

Spray foam, electric knife, cheese grater and fiberglass.

bigbrainonbrad
bigbrainonbrad New Reader
8/26/09 7:31 a.m.

Cucumber, duct tape, and a swiss army knife..... oh sorry I thought this was a MacGyver thread.

Keith
Keith GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/26/09 8:44 a.m.

With regard to the flare question: Dodge Omni and VW Rabbit ones both work pretty well. I'm using the latter on my MG.

RossD
RossD HalfDork
8/26/09 8:46 a.m.

Dont the hondas with neon lights put Z3 flares on them?

skruffy
skruffy Dork
8/26/09 8:52 a.m.