CLynn85
CLynn85 HalfDork
1/22/18 7:25 p.m.

Quick backstory - I've been driving legally for 16 years now, and involved in a ton of different motorsports, drag, autox, rallyx, stage rally, lemons, etc, but for some reason have never made it to just open track days. I decided to give that a try this year and started signing up for events like crazy, first one in a month and a half. 

The problem - I don't know what car to use. Our lemons car is too sketchy/slow (70 Plymouth /6), My project truck is too janky, my DD Vic is Janky and an automatic, and my toy car is too nice (2012 C6 Grand Sport). 

The 'vette makes the  most sense, I guess, but I'm afraid of the cost of wear parts, brakes, tires, etc, and it's kind of too nice to beat up on a track. I also feel like I should start in a lower HP car rather than being one of those losers that shows up in a performance car and then doddles around the track.

Do I just buy another Miata and have an expendable track rat? OR will that be too far of a jump down and I'll be cursing all the way down the back straight at VIR? 

The Vette in question:

(The fake ZR1 lip was on it when I bought it and gone now)

codrus
codrus GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
1/22/18 7:41 p.m.

If you have the budget and space, a Miata, E30, or E36 is a great starting track car.  The 'vette would do fine, but, as you noticed, has higher consumable costs and may generate some anxiety relating to walls.  There is specialty track day insurance available, but that adds even more cost.

Jaynen
Jaynen SuperDork
1/22/18 7:49 p.m.

A little forced induction and your miata won't have to flag half the field by everytime you hit the back straight at VIR. That being said it's always fun to make them let you pass on the front straight or at the esses because you are out turning them. Your vette looks too nice to me to use as a track rat. And consumables are much much more expensive.

New race pads and rotors for the miata are like 300 bucks