cmcgregor (Forum Supporter)
cmcgregor (Forum Supporter) SuperDork
7/18/20 6:31 p.m.

I have an opportunity to pick up an early 240z that has been sitting for....a while. The seller is helping to dispose of it for a relative that is moving into a nursing home. They know very little about it, but assume it's not running. 

I know these cars had rust problems, but is there anything else in particular I should look for? This has been a dream car for me since I was in high school, a neighbor had one that I nearly bought but I had nowhere to store it and really, no money to maintain it at the time. Trying to go into it maintaining some objectivity, the fact is that I really don't have space or time for it now, but they're not getting any easier to find. 

Current state is buried:

Bitchin'

You said it. rust. otherwise get it. Maybe get it even if it's rusty. I have no real knowledge of problem areas. 

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
7/18/20 6:46 p.m.

If it's a really early one, they are worth real money and have some hard to find parts.  Makes it worthwhile to keep it original.  

Otherwise, hang a brace of Weber's on it, a header and a 2 1/2 inch exhaust with a turbo muffler and enjoy.

Rust.  Yeah.  Rust.  All over.  If there's no large holes visible in the frame through the front wheel wells, it's a good one.

BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter)
BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/18/20 8:03 p.m.

If it's local-ish to you, there's a reasonable chance that it's not that rusty. But yeah, that's more or less the only thing to look for.

And then pull an MCM and stick an RB26 in it .

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
7/18/20 8:06 p.m.

In reply to BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) :

They swallow a small block Chevrolet very nicely, but a L28 with a diesel crank makes three plus liters and the correct noises.

And you can buy parts on this continent.

Pattyo
Pattyo Reader
7/18/20 8:14 p.m.