PeteD
PeteD GRM+ Memberand New Reader
3/7/15 6:36 a.m.

Hi everyone,

I'm considering adding a spoiler, like the one shown below, to my Miata for autox this year. I'm looking for your help & advice on what tuning should I'll need to do to get the most benefit from this. My questions are in 2 areas: what adjustments will be needed on the car? and what is the best way to tell if an adjustment it helping or hurting?

On the 1st question (adjustments on the car), I'm thinking of three possible areas. The angle of the spoiler, shock damping/rebound, and spring rate. Are there other possible adjustment you can think of or suggest ?

On the 2nd question (how to tell if an adjustment helps/hurts) I don't have any good ideas. How can I tell if the angle of the spoiler is too steep or too shallow?

I'd appreciate any advice or suggestions that you have!

Thanks,

-- Pete

Mr_Clutch42
Mr_Clutch42 Dork
3/7/15 6:43 a.m.

I have no experience on this, but without data acquisition, you may have to only go by autocross times and feel. You can also adjust tire pressure (of course) if it changes rear grip too much for your driving style. Of course, the angle of the spoiler needs to be pretty steep because of the slow speeds of autocross.

DWNSHFT
DWNSHFT HalfDork
3/7/15 9:54 a.m.

Mark Donahue says "Skidpad testing for the win."

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/7/15 10:19 a.m.

Start by looking at CSP cars, you'll see some angles to start with. And keep increasing the angle until your times start to increase.

Danny Shields
Danny Shields GRM+ Memberand New Reader
3/7/15 2:29 p.m.

In reply to PeteD: Seems to me...extra downforce on the rear should be balanced by extra downforce up front. In any event, downforce is like extra weight, as far as the springs are concerned, which would create a need for increased spring rate, to keep the downforce from using up your spring travel. Stiffer springs will call for more damping, and perhaps more tire pressure.

iceracer