2K4Kcsq
2K4Kcsq HalfDork
3/1/16 8:54 a.m.

Ive been using the gigaware cable from radioshack for 2 years and it finally died on me. got a new one but there has to be something with a better lifespan out there. I would just continue to use straight DB9 if todays laptops made that possible. currently running three cars on megasquirt off of one laptop so if there is a really good cable out there let me know as im about to buy 2. Amazon has plenty of options but the one I got from office depot didn't work at all.

kcbhiw
kcbhiw HalfDork
3/1/16 8:55 a.m.

This one is guaranteed to work: https://www.diyautotune.com/product/usb-to-serial-adapter-works-with-tunerstudio/

2K4Kcsq
2K4Kcsq HalfDork
3/1/16 9:13 a.m.

never had luck with the adapters. . . but I never got one thru DIY either. might give it a try

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/1/16 9:36 a.m.

I would go DIY. They know there stuff. If they say it works you know that they have tested it.

pinchvalve
pinchvalve GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/1/16 9:43 a.m.

Really? No one?

Stefan (Not Bruce)
Stefan (Not Bruce) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/6/16 2:02 p.m.

I'd skip the USB and go Bluetooth:

http://www.tunerstudio.com/index.php/cablesandbluetooth

This way you could even use a tablet/smartphone to monitor MegaSquirt while on the move.

wclark
wclark Reader
4/6/16 3:22 p.m.

I think the best and most compatible ones are based on the FTDI FT232R chip. The complete cable they sell with that is the US232R-10 or -100. For what its worth, the MS3 USB input goes thru an FTDI chip. I have a US232R-10 that I use with either a laptop or my Nexus 10 tablet if I need to go thru the Megasquirt's RS232 port and it works great on both. I got the -10 because I wanted the USB cable to be short and I added a shielded RS232 cable to the other end for length. I went this way because the RS232 signals are inherently better in noisy environments than USB.