1 2 3 4
RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
11/7/17 6:41 p.m.

Is it that bad that the crowd who loves biturbos won't touch them?

Admittedly, I haven't even looked at a wiki page about them, but they weren't bad looking, that I remember. 

Was it like the prowler where you're stuck with the factory drive train? Or have they maintained a stupidly high price on the used market? 

I'm just curious is all. 

Stampie
Stampie GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
11/7/17 6:47 p.m.

Every time I see one I think the same. Problem is I don't see many anymore. 

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/7/17 6:53 p.m.

In reply to RevRico :

They're all MB underneath from what I remember, and the SRT-6 version was only offered with an automatic. I've never even sat in one, so I'm far from an expert, but they intrigued me too at one time. I haven't seen one yet that was both cheap and good enough to tempt me though. 

lnlogauge
lnlogauge Reader
11/7/17 6:54 p.m.

Price isn't a downfall. Some people think they are selling a Porsche when they list these. Others are more realistic.

https://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/cto/d/crossfire-chrysler/6357253636.html

They are heavy, not that powerful, and auto. There's plenty of better options that don't wear a Chrysler badge. That's a good thing.

racerdave600
racerdave600 UltraDork
11/7/17 6:58 p.m.

I spent some time on track with a Crossfire SRT6 and it was a great car.  It only had an auto, but it worked well.  I was also driving Vipers the same day and the Crossfire was a lot more enjoyable to drive.  It's basically a Mercedes SLK with different bodywork and suspension tuning.  In fact, a Chrysler engineer told me they beat the Mercedes around the Nurburgring with the Crossfire and it didn't sit well.  I think the lack of a manual puts off a lot of the sports car guys, but I'd have one.  If you can find them, they are pretty cheap these days.  I've not seen a SRT6 for sale though, just the standard models. 

Nick Comstock