1 2
Jeff
Jeff SuperDork
11/19/13 8:52 a.m.

I picked up a Lincoln Mig Pac 140 at Crappy Tire the other day. I don't have gas yet, but plan on getting a bottle at some point. I've got a basic welding book. I need to get a helmet, gloves and other protective gear. Then I need to practice, practice, practice.

Question 1: Can this be done in a basement with proper ventilation (dedicated exhaust fan at work area venting outside)? I'm guessing no, but thought I'd ask first.

Question 2: If I need to be outside, I'll need a 50ft extension cord. Pretty sure I can't use the one on have for running the shop vac. What do I need?

Any other tips for a complete noob on how not to injure/kill oneself or destroy mine or the neighbors property is greatly appreciated.

Pretty excited about this. I'm envisioning a Can Am replica in my future.

Cheers,

Jeff

evildky
evildky Dork
11/19/13 8:58 a.m.
  1. I think ventilation is a good idea. 2 Yes you can use an extension cord. granted if you are using it on thick metal at it's highest setting you might need to invest in a heavy duty extension cord otherwise the standard orange cords can do the job.

Do not use fabric softener on the clothes you weld in! It makes them flammable, lets not talk about how I know this.

Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker MegaDork
11/19/13 9:01 a.m.

I do it in my garage, with a gas bottle on a metal table.

I have to open the door no matter how cold it is to let the smoke out every couple of welds.

I have actually set things on fire. Spatter can travel pretty far and smoulder in wood for a while before that wonderful pine scent sets off your internal panic button. I would not do it in the basement without a fume hood and careful placement unless I was repairing something that couldn't be moved.

The easy way around this is to buy a TIG. (I bought one last xmas for myself... it's awesome) You could do that in the kitchen without trouble.

Paul_VR6
Paul_VR6 HalfDork
11/19/13 9:03 a.m.