1 2 3
rowboat
rowboat
9/8/21 9:32 p.m.

So I recently picked up a 1986 Renault alliance(fwd, auto 1.7l) , with the intentions of using/building it as a unique daily driver with reasonable performance under the hood. its beem in minnesota since birth but was garaged throughout winter so pretty much zero rust.

As of right now, everything seems to be stock. The head gasket is blown/warped a bit but still runs(misfires like no other). As for the suspension, its leaning more on the soft end of the spectrum. 

i came to this forum in search of someone who has some experience with these vehicles and would know what pieces i can pull from certain cars. i want to find an engine i could potentially swap into it, coilovers & shocks front/rear.

im all ears and open to hearing anything!  also im a beginner to the whole car world.

ddavidv
ddavidv UltimaDork
9/8/21 9:38 p.m.

You picked the wrong car, especially for a beginner.  We probably have a Renault fan or two on here but my decades of playing with cars would strongly recommend you dispose of that and get something popular.

Donebrokeit
Donebrokeit UltraDork
9/8/21 9:51 p.m.

Back in the day I started at a Jeep/AMC dealership in the service department,  these cars were very fragile and parts were hard to get even while under warranty. 

First thing is make sure the heater core has been replaced. This is not a recall you want to skip as the heater core will explode and dump coolant on your feet! People were injured. 

Second thing is these cars were non-OBD meaning finding someone with the correct diagnosis tools will be very hard by now.

Good luck!

Paul B

Interesting project! I dove into the archives and found this thread here...not sure if it helps or not, but we're all rooting for you!

https://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/hopping-up-a-car-with-no-aftermarket-renault-conte/100907/page1/

Toyman01 + Sized and
Toyman01 + Sized and GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/8/21 10:10 p.m.