1 2
MrChaos
MrChaos GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/19/17 7:05 p.m.

Which is the better choice all things else being equal? Reliability info would be nice as i would be driving 100 miles each way to rallycross it.

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/19/17 7:10 p.m.

In reply to MrChaos :

The Duratec is generally considered to completely eclipse the Zetec performance, though I have no knowledge of it's durability. The Zetec is bulletproof though, especially in non-SVT form.

RossD
RossD MegaDork
12/19/17 7:48 p.m.

The duratec head is, apparently, a much better flowing head. Cosworth made parts for the duratec and FoMoCo is still putting them in cars.

alfadriver
alfadriver MegaDork
12/19/17 7:54 p.m.

If you can find a 2.3l Focus, it makes as much power as the SVT, but with more torque.  They only existed for a year or two, but drive nice.

Size for size, Duratecs significantly out-torque Zetecs, as well as the above mentioned.

MrChaos
12/19/17 7:58 p.m.

In reply to alfadriver :

it looks like it was an option on all focus' post 04.  But mostly a California option. or rather the pzev option that is really rare outside california

Gaunt596
Gaunt596 Reader
12/19/17 8:02 p.m.