manladypig
manladypig Reader
3/10/21 5:51 p.m.

I'm about ready to buy this Beautiful CB350 but seller says it's been unregistered for 2 years, what kind of DMV fees should I be expecting?

spandak
spandak HalfDork
3/10/21 6:42 p.m.

What state? 

Most have calculators online.

BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter)
BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/10/21 6:54 p.m.

In reply to spandak :

OP appears to be in CA.

Did the current owner put it on no-op?

spandak
spandak HalfDork
3/10/21 7:14 p.m.

Ah, then there definitely is a calculator. Knowing if its non-op would change things.

In Cali, I think youll be looking at a few hundred plus registration fees. Our bikes are $120 ish a year. Two years plus fees, etc.

FMB42
FMB42 New Reader
3/11/21 8:07 a.m.

What year is that CB MLP? CA DMV fees shouldn't be too horribly bad. Just be sure to apply for a DMV appointment (unless you feel like wasting 4-5 hours waiting in line).

Some questions and comments are: Does it currently run and if not when did it last run? If it doesn't run you may want to pour a teaspoon or so of motor oil into each cylinder before you try to turn it over.

Take a very close look at the tires. Also check the date code, if applicable. Tires that are 5 years or older should be replaced no matter how good they look.

Make sure that the tire pressures are to specifications before you ride it the first time (and check T pressures at least once a month thereafter.

Be sure check the tank for internal rust. Honda, Yamaha, etc, offer some very effective tank rust removal kits.

Other things to check and or look at are the brakes, cracked fuel lines, sticky throttle, bad carb intake boots, and dry/mis adjusted drive chain, and stiff or loose steering neck bearings.

You probably know all about the above, but just wanted to mention it anyway.

Good luck and ride safe.

m4ff3w
m4ff3w GRM+ Memberand UberDork
3/18/21 12:58 p.m.

Really?  In California you have to pay back registration fees?

 

Here in Texas you could not register your vehicle for 8 years, walk into the county tax office and walk out with a sticker good for the next year w/out any extra fees.

Hell, get pulled over with the expired sticker and it's a $20 fix it fee added on to the cost of the registration, to get out of a real penalty. 

BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter)
BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/18/21 1:09 p.m.

In reply to m4ff3w :

Yep, CA charges back registration if the owner forgot to declare a vehicle non-op. 

m4ff3w
m4ff3w GRM+ Memberand UberDork
3/18/21 3:44 p.m.
BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) said:

In reply to m4ff3w :

Yep, CA charges back registration if the owner forgot to declare a vehicle non-op. 

That's insane.  I guess there is a price to pay for nice weather and varied terain.

Snowdoggie (Forum Supporter)
Snowdoggie (Forum Supporter) Dork
3/18/21 4:27 p.m.
BoxheadTim (Forum Supporter) said:

In reply to m4ff3w :

Yep, CA charges back registration if the owner forgot to declare a vehicle non-op. 

I think there is a short prison sentence involved as well. So happy I don't live there anymore. wink

spandak
spandak HalfDork
3/18/21 4:31 p.m.

In reply to Snowdoggie (Forum Supporter) :

Its true.

But theres literally dozens of amazing windy roads within 2 hours of me. Pros and cons.

ddavidv
ddavidv UltimaDork
3/20/21 6:34 a.m.

One would think there should be a market for selling CA back-taxed vehicles out of state and avoiding all that Kalifornia nonsense.

Birthdays
Our Preferred Partners
cqt4ncKz9HdzK7Ex9mRolkO5srCtJpoOxj8Ox2Uke2teRBeMvcFFFjoGOGIAKE26