Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter)
Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
2/5/21 10:21 a.m.

Break off of the minor rant thread.

My early 90s diamond back hasn't been ridden since high school. I graduated in 2000 (should have been 99 but i dropped out for a minute). I don't remember what kind of shape it was in, though we can assume ran when parked. 

Its been stored in sheds, carports and garages since. 

I have ordered a fat guy seat for it, as my .1 mile ride today showed tha the seat i have hurts my ass. 

The shifters dont work on this. Im incredibly rusty on bicycle maintenance and repair,  as its been 20+ years. ..

Anyone have a good writeup/tutorial/service manual? Im assuming that there is such. Im hoping to not throw any additional money at this bike in the effort to get in better shape. 

fatallightning
fatallightning Reader
2/5/21 10:26 a.m.

Shimano shifters tend to have grease in them that solidifies when it sits for a long time. Try blasting with wd-40 and pulling on the cables while ratcheting to coerce the pawls into motion. Park tools website has vids on basically everything. 

ProDarwin
ProDarwin MegaDork
2/5/21 10:34 a.m.

Can you go into more detail besides "shifters dont' work"

They are stuck?  No feeling/disconnected?  Throws the chain? Not calibrated?

On something that has been sitting that long, I would try and clean and move every part manually before diagnosing any system-level issues.  You can make yourself a little funnel out of something that goes around the cable and noses into the sheathing to try and feed WD-40 down inside it.  Do that and move the cable back and forth as suggested above.

That seat looks uncomfortable

golfduke
golfduke Dork
2/5/21 10:36 a.m.

you have 2 options, really- 

Option 1-  Spend $50 and have a shop overhaul/tune it up.  Thats the real easy button. 

But, since you're on GRM, and probably a DIY'er, here's how I'd start the rebuild.