Riley_88
Riley_88 New Reader
4/2/21 10:40 p.m.

It's time to find a new owner for my '07 Versys 650 and replace it with something different...for roughly the money I get for the Versys.  I've been riding on the street for about 30 years.  Most of my riding is commuting to work or just getting out for pleasure rides.  Occasionally one of my kids comes along for the ride as well which means I need a rear seat.  Typically once or twice a year I'll get away for a weekend ride with friends.  I'm not a really aggressive rider but want a bike that is still sporty.  Here's what i'm considering so far so any feedback on these or suggestions of other bikes would be great. 

Aprilia Shiver 750 

BMW F800ST

Honda CB599

Honda CB919

Kawsaki Z750

Suzuki Bandit 650

Yamaha FZ6

Yamaha YZF600R

Thanks for your input!

I like everything on your list, save the Bimmer. It has strange TORX fasteners everywhere, and just that weird 3D printed feel that new instant cameras have. Just-Unnatural in some way. Your Results May Vary.

secretariata (Forum Supporter)
secretariata (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
4/3/21 8:41 a.m.

I have vague memories of some issue with the Aprilia when they first came out. Can't remember what it was or if it was a big deal or not. I just remember being pretty excited about it until they started to hit the street & then taking them off the potential ownership list.

Riley_88
Riley_88 New Reader
4/3/21 10:28 a.m.

Interesting...both the Aprilia and the BMW were the bikes I would say are on the bubble for me.  At this point in life I put a high value on reliability.  I'm busy with kids and other responsibilities so when I have time to ride I want the bike to be good to go.

The BMW seems like there's complexity I don't need or want to deal with.  One in my budget will be at the lower end too so perhaps not the best example.  That said, a friend has offered me his as a test so we'll see how that goes.