1 2
Turbo_Rev
Turbo_Rev Reader
5/5/22 2:39 p.m.

Howdy, all. I've noticed we've got a relatively large technician/engineer population here, so I figured it would be a good place to ask this question.

My background:

I'm 34. I'm a 10 year Navy vet. I was a "nuke", which is a nuclear power plant technician. My specific field was mechanical systems (Machinist Mate). In essence, we operated and maintained all mechanical systems associated with power plant operations. Our training was pretty comprehensive for operators; we were pretty well versed in nuclear reactor theory and mechanical systems theory but we did NOT use mathematics to demonstrate much of anything except for fairly simple problems (how fast can this pump fill this tank? what will this pressure gauge read if the pressure in the room is x?) We did study principles of reactor physics grounded in calculus but didn't get into the actual math (reactivity is the derivative of reactor power, etc.) We covered basic circuit theory, pump theory, basic heat transfer (mCAT), conservation of mass, conservation of energy, that kind of thing.I've heard a lot of people compare our training to a nuclear power technology degree, or what a civilian plant operator goes to school for. 

At sea, I operated these systems and turned wrenches on them. We had some mechanical control systems (pressure regulating valves, pneumatically controlled valves, etc.) and some electronic ones (motor controllers, electronic water level control, etc.) that we operated. Steam turbines, heat exchangers, all manner of valves, pumps. We had to understand the principles of operation for ALL equipment but only touched mechanical ones. I got into middle-management, roughly speaking (Chief Reactor Watch), and ran a corrosion prevention program, where I managed about 10 people. We also knew emergency plant procedures and damage control.