AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/14/11 11:51 a.m.

i'm in my third week as assistant coach for my daughter's 5- and 6-year old soccer team. anyone here ever seen soccer at that age? half the kids are picking clover, and the other half are clustered around the ball trying to kick the E36 M3 out of it in whatever direction they're facing, even when someone on their team already has it.

i'm an engineer, and i'm big on sportsmanship. so i want them to pass the ball, only cover their assigned area of the field, don't run up the score, etc. in today's game, in the 3rd quarter, we're up by 3 and i'm telling my kids to pass. now, i've been telling my kids to pass all game long. but the opposing coach chooses this time to tell me that i'm patronizing his team by telling my kids to pass instead of shoot. no, i just don't want to be the coach who runs up the score on a bunch of little kids who may get discouraged and quit playing the game after having their asses handed to them.

i tried to talk to him about it during the game, and he started complaining about me keeping my best players in the game, not giving each kid equal time at every position, etc. maybe because i had only used 3 keepers up to this point, i'm not sure. then he points out that #32 on my team (who unbenounced to him is my daughter) hasn't played in the second half. i point out that she played defense for the entire first quarter and then played keeper for the entire second quarter, and she hadn't played in the 2nd half because she wasn't feeling well. i did not point out that his team didn't score in the first half.