robmillion
robmillion New Reader
1/14/19 6:13 a.m.

help! i need to get a computer with a parallel port. but a USB adapter won't work because it's not for a printer.

i'm a locksmith and i'm gettting some equipment together to reflash and program EEPROMs for ECUs and immobilizers, but i need a parallel port to interface with it. i'd prefer to not have to buy some ancient computer with like 512mb of RAM running Windows 95. if that's the only way then so be it, but i was wondering if there are any modern machines that come with an actual parallel port, or that one could be added to. desktops or laptops are ok, spending huge amounts of money isn't. haha

i don't know a ton about computers so there may be options i'm not aware of. i saw parallel port cards on newegg and amazon, but i'm not sure what i can put those into and have them work. anyone else know?

Knurled.
Knurled. GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/14/19 6:41 a.m.

My guess is a solid "no", but you should be able to get an expansion card with one for a desktop, or maybe even a PCMCIA card for a laptop.

If those standards are even used anymore.

My concern would be, would the kind of software that would work with a parallel-port burner even work with modern OSs?  I remember how "fun" it was trying to make DOS emulators work with non-old peripherals (like sound cards).

californiamilleghia
californiamilleghia Reader
1/14/19 7:03 a.m.

Many of the cheap Chinese cnc machines you buy on eBay use a parallel port to run the  Mach 1 program

Maybe look up cnc 3020 parallel port and see what comes up

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/14/19 7:12 a.m.
RevRico
RevRico GRM+ Memberand UberDork
1/14/19 7:14 a.m.

Lenovo tough books can be outfitted with them. Pricey, but my buddy that does fire alarms got a modern laptop built with parallel and serial ports for programming from work. 

dculberson
dculberson UltimaDork
1/14/19 7:44 a.m.