GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/3/13 11:05 a.m.

I have no idea how to use CAD software and will need to soon. I did technical drawing in high school and used to do 3D modelling as a hobby, I have no other experience that may be relevant. Is this something I can learn in a few evenings or something I'll have to read a fat book to get started with?

I'll use any FOSS CAD app.

I want to get some 4age crank ladders and a custom ITB adapter "virtually complete" around the middle of next year.

fritzsch
fritzsch HalfDork
10/3/13 11:10 a.m.

You should be able to mostly get the hang of it in a few evenings, the software might also have a small tutorial built in. Based on my experience, the more advanced feautres will require the book or the internet to explain, as the software will ask for references or prompts and they need to be done a certain way that isn't explicit. The book/internet solve that though

NOHOME
NOHOME Dork
10/3/13 11:11 a.m.

I did a six week Solidworks course (3 hours once a week) that got me up to speed on the basics. I wont count the hours I did at home.

Truth is, the book would have done as well if I had the disclipine. Solidworks for dummies is an option.

Once you get started, YouTube is your firend for just about anything you can think of.

Do you need to learn because of your job or because of your hobby? If hobby, then you wont want to cough up the 4-5k it cost for Solidworks (or maybe you will?)

Google Sketch-up is another option that is free and supposedly easy enough to learn.

tuna55
tuna55 PowerDork
10/3/13 11:16 a.m.

I learned Solidworks myself on-the-job with no books in a few weeks. It's really easy. I think Pro-E is similar in learning curve. Something like UG takes a few good training classes to get useful information out of.

Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker MegaDork
10/3/13 11:17 a.m.