z31maniac
z31maniac HalfDork
6/18/08 2:23 p.m.

In an effort to further my career, make myself more marketable, and ultimately make more money as a Tech Writer I need to learn web/multimedia design.

Since I'm contract labor, the company I work for won't pay for a class or school, so I'd like to start with teaching myself web design and development.

I'm contemplating buying Dreamweaver and putting it on my home PC to so I can learn do HTML and web page building.

Are there any good books, online resources, tutorials to check into? Is Dreamweaver the best software to learn on? Adobe's publishing suite seems to be the industry standard.

Or is there a different route you would suggest?

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand Dork
6/18/08 2:26 p.m.

You won't learn to make beautiful top-quality ultra-complicated web pages this way, but the w3schools website can teach you everything short of that:

http://www.w3schools.com/

Salanis
Salanis HalfDork
6/18/08 2:31 p.m.

I prefer to hardcode html. It really isn't that complicated, and makes for a much more stable, usable, and upgradeable page. I find that WYSIWYG editors generate weird code. Plus WYSIWYG doesn't work for web-pages since the output medium is variable.

I like to learn by doing. Also programming isn't about doing everything yourself, it's about recreating what's been proven. Find pages that you like and do things you want to be able to do, then look at how they did them. You can do this by going to [View] -> [Page Source] and reading the HTML.

Learn about Div tags and CSS. CSS makes it really easy to build pretty pages and manage them without trouble.

Further note, given my other topic about whether I'm in the right field or not, how did you get into Technical Writing, what does your job normally involve, and how do you like that?

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand Dork
6/18/08 2:36 p.m.