HappyAndy
HappyAndy New Reader
7/5/08 10:43 p.m.

If, while driving my car, I hit a kid ridding a black bicycle at night with no reflectors or lights, and wearing black clothes, could I suit him, or his parents for failing to operate the bike safley? I had a near miss on a busy street in a comercial area (not residential) tonight. The kid (A teenager I presume) came out from behind a building and crossed in front of me at speed (10 to 15 foot range) he never looked, slowed down or flinched.

MitchellC
MitchellC New Reader
7/5/08 11:01 p.m.

I'm no lawyer, but i don't think you could sue him and win if you hit him... more like, they would be less likely to win when suing you.

Here, if the cop is bored, you will get pulled over for not having lights on at night. Which is really for the best, because people on bicycles are just shy of invisible at night.

neon4891
neon4891 HalfDork
7/5/08 11:11 p.m.

oh the memories of spending every possible moment on a bike before I was able to drive

ignorant
ignorant SuperDork
7/6/08 8:19 a.m.

Could you sue him! yes.. You can sue anyone for anything you want.

will you win.. probably not unless you got some pretty strict bike regulations in your town. Now had a cop seen that, he could get a moving violation for failure to stop or reckless driving etc. Bikes have to follow the same rules of the road as cars.

I'm no lawyer mind you.

HiTempguy
HiTempguy New Reader
7/6/08 11:48 a.m.
will you win.. probably not unless you got some pretty strict bike regulations in your town.

Back in grade 12, a friend of mine was hit by a car. He was hauling butt and listening to his ipod. He crossed an intersection that had the DO NOT CROSS light flashing. A driver making a right hand turn hit him at about 20km/h. Broke his collarbone in the fall. As well as having a sore collarbone for a while, he was fined $75. So I doubt you could sue, but I bet the kid could get a fine.

z31maniac
z31maniac HalfDork
7/6/08 8:14 p.m.