1 2 3 ... 5
Mazdax605
Mazdax605 UltraDork
6/14/16 11:31 a.m.

Hey guys,

Last season I was an assistant coach on my sons squirt C youth hockey team. This was his first full ice hockey as he was in a cross-ice learn to play program before this. It was a ton of fun, and I got to meet some really cool kids, and parents. Now this season my son is playing as a squirt again(ages 9-10), but moved up to the B2 team(not much of a jump in skill), and I've volunteered to be the head coach. I've never been a coach before, so this is all new. I play hockey, but it's pick up/beer league , and I'm not very good, but have a passion for the game. My son isn't particularly good either but he loves the game. I never played youth hockey, but have been playing hockey since high-school in pick up/beer league. I know the game, but have no formal training, or coaching ever in my life.

It's a big commitment on my part, and I'm nervous about my decision to sign up for it, but my son and wife are excited. How do I not let them, and the team down? Any tips/tricks you guys have to help me do this? I sat down, and went over a list of things I want to tell the parents, and players in a team meeting later this month. Among them are my most important things for the upcoming season. Sportsmanship is my number one. I will not put up with a team member or parent putting down another teammate or an opponent. Expectations, lets keep them within reason. This isn't the NHL. Little Johnny isn't the next Orr. I'm just looking for every kid to get better by the end of the season. I don't care about wins and losses. Safety is very important, play within the rules, and smart. Wear your equipment, and make sure you have all the required stuff or you won't be allowed on the ice. Attendance. Make sure you can make as many practices as possible. There is more, but I won't bore you guys.