ransom
ransom GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
5/6/13 1:27 p.m.

The garage is getting it's rough electrical inspection tomorrow. I've told myself again and again that I can't expect to have gotten it all right, and that getting sent back to do a couple of things over is what I should expect, and I can re-do a fair bit and still have it much cheaper than farming it out.

That said, it would be awesome to get it signed off and be able to call in the rough framing inspection and then start drywalling...

EastCoastMojo
EastCoastMojo GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
5/6/13 3:17 p.m.

I have heard that drywalling is a pain in the ass, especially overhead. Good luck with the inspection!

bikerbenz
bikerbenz New Reader
5/6/13 4:36 p.m.

I am an electrician in real life. The inspectors really don't look closely if things are done neatly and in the regular manner. The only real problem is that they are the law and can get you for anything.

Arguing with an inspector is like wrestling a pig in the mud. After a while you realize the pig is enjoying it.

nepa03focus
nepa03focus Reader
5/6/13 4:42 p.m.

I don't I ow how true this is but I have heard of people screwing up one obvious thing on purpose so the inspector can catch it , and feel like they are doing a good job. And like previously noted I think they feel a lot better abou it when it looks like you took your time and did a neat professional job.

ransom
5/6/13 4:49 p.m.
bikerbenz wrote: I am an electrician in real life. The inspectors really don't look closely if things are done neatly and in the regular manner. The only real problem is that they are the law and can get you for anything. Arguing with an inspector is like wrestling a pig in the mud. After a while you realize the pig is enjoying it.