1 2 3
barefootcyborg5000
barefootcyborg5000 PowerDork
10/6/22 4:06 p.m.

I know this isn't an original idea, but these people say the darnedest things. Post 'em up. 

jmabarone
jmabarone Reader
10/6/22 4:21 p.m.

Please tell me this isn't a hybrid

barefootcyborg5000
barefootcyborg5000 PowerDork
10/6/22 5:14 p.m.

In reply to jmabarone :

It is, but that isn't remotely how things work... what's funny is it's another shop bringing it in for us to fix. "Customer" is a "professional" mechanic. 

jfryjfry
jfryjfry SuperDork
10/6/22 5:29 p.m.

There's a YouTube channel called exactly that and the videos are very entertaining.

Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
10/6/22 6:56 p.m.

When I was a service writer we had a customer send his son in with his son's decade-ish old Volvo S40 to get tires and an alignment.
Ok, cool.  Get it up on the lift, check everything out, one inner tie rod is pretty loose, the outer tie rod on the opposite was starting to get bad.

Call him, "sir, we can't do the alignment right now, the inner tie rod is pretty loose, the outer will need to be replaced soonish but not now."

"I'm not getting no damn tie rods, do the alignment!"

"Sir, with those tie rods if we do the alignment it won't hold an alignment and there will be no warranty on the alignment or tires"

"DO THE DAMN ALIGNMENT!" and then he hung up.

Welp.  Wrote up everything in the system, told the manager (who was off that day) and he laughed and said he'd back me.

Guy came in and started yelling at me "how dare you lie to me, how dare you tell me there's an inner and outer tie rod! There's only one tie rod on a steering system! I'm an engineer and you're lying to me!"