1 2
The
The HalfDork
2/5/15 5:38 p.m.

up hill on top of that, I used a Wall-Mart winch and when it over heated used a come along, 2 hours later, man that sucks..............

iceracer
iceracer PowerDork
2/5/15 5:44 p.m.

Walmart selling wench,s can get them into trouble.

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 PowerDork
2/5/15 5:49 p.m.

In reply to The:

Somewhere on this vast expanse of knowledge, I related my tale of frustration, pain, and ultimate success in loading a non-running '66 Chevy II hardtop onto a trailer without the help of any other persons or a winch at a location 3 hours from home. Glad it all worked out for you!

Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker MegaDork
2/5/15 5:56 p.m.

Better uphill than downhill. This should go in a "Confessions" thread but... once, a long time ago when I was a trailering noob I tried to load my wife's non-running Passat onto my open deck trailer. Since the car didn't run and was at the top of a downhill dirt driveway and I considered myself quite clever... I drove the truck/trailer in front of the car with about 50' of running room to coast it.

I got in, put the car in neutral and aimed it at the ramps... but I got going too fast. So... just as the car hit the middle of the ramps I hit the brakes. Which loaded the front tires. Which slid the car up the steel ramp and slammed weight onto the dovetail. Which lifted the trailer nose. Which lifted the weight off the Tundra's rear wheels. Which were holding this whole mess in place on a downhill, dirt, gravel driveway. With an antique barn at the bottom. So, the Passat, the trailer and the truck were all rolling/sliding down the drive right at this guys barn door with my wife, the homeowner and his wife all screaming "Nooo!!!" and "Oh My God!!!".

Frankly... I kindof panicked and didn't even pull the hand brake and let off the pedal to try and right this trainwreck. The drive leveled off just enough that it all stopped about 5' short.

I used the winch from there :)