Mazdax605
Mazdax605 UberDork
2/14/18 1:48 p.m.

Hey guys,

Last summer when my Suburban was being possessed with the HVAC system, we decided it was time for a new car. I felt it was a good idea to get a new/newer car for my wife as she had been driving the same 06 Sienna since Jan of 2007. We also needed said vehicle to be capable of towing our 3500lb camper, so I narrowed our choices down to a few vehicles. We were looking at used 4Runners, and went to the dealer that my sister bought her Tacoma from instead of the trusted Toyota dealer I had been doing business with for many years. Well one long hot day later we drove away from teh dealer in a brand spanking new 17 4Runner that we leased. I feel like we were somewhat taken advantage of at the dealer, but that is as much our fault as anyones.

It is a fabulous car, and my wife likes it, but man it is a hefty bill every month, and probably not something we should have done. It was a moment of weakness for us I know in hindsight. It is also a lot of vehicle, and probably not what we should have bought but it sure is nice. I think we could do just fine with a smaller crossover SUV, or cute-ute for her, and a dedicated tow machine for me like the ole Suburban. However I don't know if this is even feasible with the lease and all. I worry that the value of the car compared to the buyout of the lease may be too much of that is even something that can be done. We have excellent credit, and I would sure hate to ruin it, so I want to do this the right way.

Many years ago I had a lease on an RX-8 that I had assumed, and it was pretty straight forward, but I don't know if that is something that can still be done.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

Chris

szeis4cookie
szeis4cookie Dork
2/14/18 2:01 p.m.

Don't 4Runners hold their value ridiculously well?  Maybe explore just turning it in, you might come out ahead.

z31maniac
z31maniac MegaDork
2/14/18 2:22 p.m.