JtspellS
JtspellS HalfDork
7/9/12 9:01 p.m.

Now i am in the process of a divorce and the "wife" calls me up today and says the car she has (in my name but she drives) is a bit in shambles and she "does not want it anymore"

Now the car in question is a 04 SAAB 9-5, and the short list of issues i know of at the moment is the CEL is on, needs brakes & tires.

Now i have not seen said car since it left with my dog and half the crap we had unexpectedly one day last year so i don't know what condition it is in aside from that.

So aside from talking to the lawyer (doing tomorrow) Would GRM:

1. Flip it (KBB is only like $4k for excellent and idk what the remainder on the loan is)

2. Part out and eat the difference

3. Fix and use as a DD and refi at a better rate and give the RX8 a break and eat it for a few more years.

Now being a Mechanic by trade fixing it is not an issue but just need some advise from all sides.

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
7/9/12 9:08 p.m.

If it was me, I'd put some elbow grease in it and send it down the road. If she's anything like my wife, "shambles" means it hasn't been cleaned in a year so a good detailing will probably make it presentable. Give it some TLC and dump it unless you want it and can afford it.

friedgreencorrado
friedgreencorrado PowerDork
7/9/12 9:28 p.m.

Depends. How far along in the process are you? Are there child support payments on the way? Even though my ex had her car in her own name, she got pretty angry when I stopped doing maintenance for free. Her anger almost cost me visitation rights.

Full Disclosure: I live in Georgia, the courts take the word of the mother as "gospel" unless she's been apprehended in the middle of murdering someone with an ax.

Secretariata
Secretariata GRM+ Memberand New Reader
7/9/12 9:32 p.m.