DaewooOfDeath
DaewooOfDeath SuperDork
10/4/18 12:03 a.m.

My degree is philosophy and my thesis is a discussion of how Stoic and Buddhist conceptions of justice might make individuals stronger, happier and more resilient.

I was looking over the forums a few months back and found a passionate argument about the spiritual qualities of DOHC and OHV valvetrain layouts. The DOHC person was (an a-hole) who was expressing his disgust for the primitive sorts who never bathe, make love to their sisters and enjoy pushrod engines. The other people (because GRM is mostly composed of reasonable folk) mostly responded by making fun of his snobbery and/or offering engineering explanations for why you might want ohv engines in some applications and OHC engines in others. In less reasonable corners, the explanation for having a DOHC layout tends to revolve around ideas of manliness, patriotism and spiritual purity. Ie, people who like DOHC layouts are a bunch of fart-sniffing pansy communists who pretend to understand Jackson Pollock paintings. They're also gay. 

It struck me that an intelligent and potentially useful discussion - what sort of valvetrain you should use - had devolved into a completely idiotic exercise in feces throwing. Why? My answer is something like this, adding moral value judgments to a discussion, regardless of what the topic is, detracts from truth seeking. 

Do you guys think this is true? 

If you agree, why do you think this is?

Obviously I have theories of my own on these questions, but I'd love to hear what you all think. 

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/4/18 5:51 a.m.

Because from  functional perspective anything automotive has its roots in science, and thus is something that can be analyzed and measured. Whereas morals exist to help us determine right from wrong.