1 2
DrBoost
DrBoost Reader
1/4/09 1:47 p.m.

Ok, so I decided to give up cable AND the internet for a while (after loosing my job we decided to make MAJOR changes and will be debt free in less than 4 years) so I'm shopping for a HD converter box. I'm looking at every bit of info I can find but thought I'd ask you folks for your experiences, good and bad. What model do you have and why do you or don't you like it? What feature does it have that you would rather not live without and what feature would you like it to have?

Now, I'm new to this since I've had cable TV since it was called "IT" and "ON" (remember those anyone??). Anyway, I see some of the manufacturers will say "our box pulls in weak stations". Isn't that the antenna that pulls the station in? Thanks for your input, it'll be helpful.

slefain
slefain Dork
1/4/09 2:12 p.m.

First go here to see what TV stations in your area you can pick up (to see if it will be worth the trouble):

http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx

Then log on here and get the $40 coupon from the government:

https://www.dtv2009.gov/

Then find a box for as little over $40 as possible. Sam's Club has their box for $44. It is a Magnavox. Not a bad box, but not the best either. But for $4 out of pocket it's great.

Then go buy an amplified antenna. Doesn't really matter what kind, just make sure it's got an honest AC powered amplifier. Mine is a Sam's Club house brand I think I paid $20 for.

I'm thrilled to death with my setup. We pull in all the major Atlanta stations. It's no comparison to cable TV for variety, but for catching network TV it's great.

sachilles
sachilles Reader
1/5/09 9:17 a.m.

Just an fyi, it is a digital converter not an HD converter. They are different things. A digital converter will pick up over the air digital signals.

An Hd converter is something early hd ready tv's used.

You should be able to get a coupon from the government website to get a free converter.