1 2
alex
alex Dork
11/10/09 10:06 p.m.

I really like having taps and dies around. Very handy. I'm also cheap. Harbor Freight has them for cheap. Are they any good, or more trouble than their worth?

motomoron
motomoron Reader
11/10/09 11:11 p.m.

They're fine 'til you need to actually cut threads. Then, if you're lucky it can function as a single-use tool.

Even the mid-quality American made stuff like Hanson doesn't work nearly as well as the good stuff, but it's sufficient for home shop use. I have this set in my shop at work and an earlier version at home-

http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PARTPG=INLMKD&PMPXNO=952952&PMAKA=310-1376

As they wear out/break/disappear I replace with better stuff bought as singles from McMaster-Carr.

Consider this: I've been using the older one of these sets for 10 years and have probably replaced a dozen small taps in the most used sizes. I paid north of $400 for a top quality US made drill set (#1-60, fractionals from 1/16 to 1/2, letters A-Z) and it too has served for 10 years with fill-in as necessary from McMaster-Carr.

Cheap cutting tools aren't a bargain.

NYG95GA
NYG95GA SuperDork
11/11/09 12:10 a.m.

The trick I've found when using cheaper threading taps is to have the exact proper size drill bit to clean/start the hole, using liberal lubricant, and GOING SLOW! Dab some axle grease in the tap flutes for the filings to stick to, cut the threads about 1/2 turn at a time, and back out to clean off filings. This may be slow, but if you keep the flutes clear of filings, the tap seems to bind less. If it ever starts to noticably twist, don't force it! Go even slower; maybe 1/4 turn each cut. Yes, it takes forever, but once you've broken off a few taps in a hole because of impatience, you'll take the extra time.

DrBoost
DrBoost HalfDork
11/11/09 1:37 a.m.

In this case, don't waste your time with the junk. Get a good set. Ebay is where I'd start

RedS13Coupe
RedS13Coupe Reader
11/11/09 3:43 a.m.