ddavidv
ddavidv PowerDork
8/29/15 5:10 p.m.

Much has happened to me in the last year. A lot of it had to do with losing a job, then getting a job that was the worst experience of my life, then finally finding a job that seems like it will be a good way spend several years. During the middle period I became very depressed. Spending 8-10 hrs a day doing something I hated was really draining. Near the end of that debacle I did something I have never done before: I went and bought a very expensive (for me) item without my usual over-thinking. The result was my 2008 Triumph Bonneville, a bike I have lusted after for years and absolutely love riding.

All of my friends and my suffering spouse have listened to me whine about S197 Mustangs since they came out in 2005. I fell in love with the car the minute I saw it and promised my (cheap, thrifty) self that I would own one someday. The Bonneville purchase greased the skids for that and I finally got tired of the 'temporary' Sony Edition Focus that I threw practicality to the wind and got my Mustang. It isn't a GT, which makes me the butt of many jokes among my car pals, but it really is a fine car and does what it needs to do while still being fun.

When you get to be my age and contemplate just how little time you probably have left to enjoy things in life such as Mustangs and motorcycles it makes having fun more important. With those two major automotive boxes checked I'm at a loss what I do next, if anything. Still have my BMW race car and a '93 Ford Lightning that I can't figure out why it suffers detonation under load, so there remain things to tinker with. Aside from an older 911 there really isn't much else that excites me. And maybe that's ok.

If you like Mustangs, philosophical musings or just want to kill some time I was moved to start a blog about the whole Mustang thing. Comment or subscribe as you deem fit. Motorosophy blog