1 2
vazbmw
vazbmw HalfDork
3/24/12 5:37 p.m.

Thread from 2012:

Dudes and dudettes, I am new to the leafy backyard thing. Normally I hire a person to do it, but I am thinking I might be able to stay Grassroots if I did it myself. What should I know about buying a leafblower? What is the minimum I can spend and get the job done? What is best, gas or electric? Thanks Vazfx16

Grizz
Grizz Dork
3/24/12 5:41 p.m.

Do you have any 18 volt tools laying about?

If you do, see if that company makes an 18 volt leafblower. Cords are stupid if you have any kind of yard.

MG Bryan
MG Bryan Dork
3/24/12 5:43 p.m.

I like a two stroke engine on my leaf-blowers.

vazbmw
vazbmw Reader
3/24/12 5:50 p.m.

I am leaning toward 2 stroke because of the size of the property and the amount of leaves. I am in the PNW and we have some serious trees plus rain that makes leave sticky.

I am feeling I need strong- "A" blower

MG Bryan wrote: I like a two stroke engine on my leaf-blowers.
jrw1621
jrw1621 PowerDork
3/24/12 5:55 p.m.

I bought a cheap Black and Decker blower and mulcher two years ago. It was great but I would have gone with a more expensive unit or tried to get a better bag system.
Leaf Hog.
http://www.blackanddecker.com/outdoor/lh4500.aspx

When sucking in leaves it grinds them at a rate of 16 bags to one. This really helped my situation since I had to haul the leaves offsite.
I think I spent around $69. I now wish I had spent more to get a better bag and less cheap plastic at the closures.

BARNCA
BARNCA HalfDork
3/24/12 6:20 p.m.

going on 2 yrs.. no issues.. starts 2nd pull each time. sucker and blower work primo first class.....

http://www.lowes.com/pd_51371-86886-BVM200FE_4294747189_4294937087_?productId=3397586&Ns=p_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr|0||p_product_qty_sales_dollar|1&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl_Blowers_4294747189_4294937087_%3FNs%3Dp_product_prd_lis_ord_nbr%7C0%7C%7Cp_product_qty_sales_dollar%7C1&facetInfo=

Derick Freese
Derick Freese Dork
3/24/12 7:02 p.m.