1 2 3 4
GlennS
GlennS HalfDork
6/25/08 5:18 p.m.

The discussion of knife control for some reason reminded me of this video that i think anyone who lives in the U.S. or plans on spending any time here should see.

Part1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8z7NC5sgik

Part 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08fZQWjDVKE&feature=related

Enjoy.... im fairly certain its safe for work. Law school lecture

Salanis
Salanis Dork
6/25/08 5:39 p.m.

There's the classic cop questions regarding driving:

"Do you know why I pulled you over?" and "Do you know how fast you were going?"

You can admit ignorance of the law or knowledge of your guilt.

Black Stig
Black Stig New Reader
6/25/08 6:24 p.m.

WOW! This is an AWESOME professor! I have never had a professor this involving, granted, I'm a network engineer, LMAO! But they have never just drawn me in like this! I have watch 20 minutes of the first video so far and I am hooked!

-Stig

billy3esq
billy3esq Dork
6/25/08 9:41 p.m.
Salanis wrote: There's the classic cop questions regarding driving: "Do you know why I pulled you over?" and "Do you know how fast you were going?" You can admit ignorance of the law or knowledge of your guilt.

I didn't watch the whole lecture video. I did my time in law school. The prof is right though, you don't talk to the police.

However, as an academic matter, there are correct answers to the questions posed above.

"Am I free to leave?" always works, no matter what a cop asks. If the cop is asking you a question, it's an interrogation. If the cop says you're not free to leave, then it's custodial, and he can't ask you any questions (and get admissible answers) without reading you your Miranda rights. Obviously, if you get Mirandized, shut up!!!