alex
alex SuperDork
2/21/11 5:46 p.m.

I need to get a handle on bookkeeping for my new business quickly, while it's still simple and I half-way understand it.

My needs are modest - I mainly need something to invoice accounts (I have 5; 6 if you count the restaurant I'm trading space for product, and I do intend to keep track of it just to know what I'm spending), and to track expenses. Basic stuff.

I've used Quickbooks. I think it's more than I need, and I don't really like the back end. And it's expensive. Lean and mean. Streamlined.

I wish Google had something like this, because based on the rest of their Docs programs, it seems they'd be making just what I'm looking for.

I'm thinking of Open Office, but I have no experience. Thoughts?

Any suggestions welcome.

JoeyM
JoeyM SuperDork
2/21/11 5:56 p.m.

Never used any, but for all my other open source needs I visit http://sourceforge.net They may have exactly what you need

Grtechguy
Grtechguy SuperDork
2/21/11 5:56 p.m.

http://www.gnucash.org/features.phtml?

John Brown
John Brown GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/21/11 5:58 p.m.

I have a genuine copy of M.Y.O.B. (Mind Your Own Business) for the cost of shipping for you if you want it A (or a little dough).

(I hope you see what I did there ;) )

alex
alex SuperDork
2/21/11 6:01 p.m.

Seen. Respected. Always reliable.

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/21/11 6:09 p.m.

Someone is going to say it at some point. Quickbooks.

I started out with an open source software and after the first tax season changed to quickbooks. Getting the open source software to do anything other than invoicing was a pain. It also didn't want to do multiple sales taxes. The change over was a royal pain it the posterior because everything had to be entered from scratch. You can buy their basic version for around a $100 and it will expand as you do.

mrwillie
mrwillie Reader
2/21/11 6:36 p.m.