1 2
Mazdax605
Mazdax605 UltraDork
1/26/17 9:26 a.m.

Hello all,

Inspired by a friend of mine I decided to get a scale model to mess around with. Also I thought maybe my 10 year old son might want to try it as well. Santa brought him a pretty simple FC3S RX-7 model for Christmas. My wife got me a cool Honda CRX Si model, and I recently got two new Mitsubishi Delica models from a company in Japan. I went out to the local hobby shop, and spent way too much on paint on Tuesday.

Last night I started painting some of the detail parts on the Delica, and quicly realized it has been a long time since I had done a model. Probably 30 years or better. Even when I did them as a kid I wasn't too good at it, but I enjoyed it. It seems maybe my vision isn't what it once was as it was tough painting some of the small things I was doing last night, but overall I was having a good time.

Regarding the decals for the Delica it seems these are different than I remember them being with the kits I had as a kid. These require soaking in water. I don't remember doing that, but maybe I did. Also the Delica kit came with masking decals for the various sky lights, and moonroofs for the van. I have no idea what these are for. Maybe there is a description in the instructions, but it's mostly in Japanese, and even the English seems a bit strange. Any help on that, or pro tips for a guy getting back into this after a long time is greatly appreciated. Also any help on how to get my 10 year old started is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Chris

Brian
Brian MegaDork
1/26/17 9:32 a.m.

Good luck. I've never completed a stage 2 kit myself.

Mazdax605
Mazdax605 UltraDork
1/26/17 9:34 a.m.

I have no idea what stage these kits are, but the Delica is super detailed. Down to the rear parabolic parking mirror mounted on the rear hatch.

Wall-e
Wall-e GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/26/17 9:43 a.m.