1 2 3
DrBoost
DrBoost PowerDork
4/9/13 10:02 a.m.

There’s been a few threads about shaving in the past so I think this might be of interest. I’ve been shaving with a double-edge blade for a few years now and have been getting the best shaves and saving lots of money. My wife bought me some shaving soap a while ago and it just didn’t do the job. It wouldn’t lather and dried up so fast I could only do small parts of my face at a time.
Tired of that, I decided to try MItchell's Wool Fat Soap. Wow! You gotsta try this stuff. It takes just a bit longer to get a lather, but it’s much, much thicker than any other soap/cream I’ve ever used. The lanolin really feels great, and after I was done I didn’t have any burning at all.
If you’re using a DE blade, I’d highly recommend trying this. Wow.

While I am fat, and do occasionally wear wool, I'm not affiliated with Mitchells Wool Fat Soap.

scardeal
scardeal Dork
4/9/13 10:07 a.m.

I gave up shaving. Beards are where it's at.

Apexcarver
Apexcarver PowerDork
4/9/13 10:09 a.m.

Been trying the double edge thing myself and liking it.

Need to work some things out still, but its been better than the bics and mach3.

pinchvalve
pinchvalve GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
4/9/13 10:15 a.m.

I hate to promote overpriced, trendy mall stuff, but the Art of Shaving is worth a try. Yes, it involves oils and lotions and such, but the results are awesome.

mtn
mtn PowerDork
4/9/13 10:16 a.m.

I use Bigelow shave cream. Better than anything else I've tried, which admittedly isn't much.

xflowgolf
xflowgolf HalfDork
4/9/13 10:23 a.m.

I need to try this. I wear a trimmed beard because I have never found a shaving method that didn't leave me bleeding and irritated.

I still have to shave my neck daily though (which is still highly irritated and bleeding) regardless of what fancy or cheap razor or lotion or cream or whatever I've tried. I get tired of staining the collars on all my dress shirts.

I guess I need to give a DE blade a try.