1 2 3
scardeal
scardeal Dork
9/5/12 7:20 a.m.

At the moment, I'm a noob with woodworking. I have very little in terms of tools. I know how to sand, paint and stain, and I have assembled Ikea furniture... and that's about it.

I want to get to the point where I can build a decent furniture piece that looks professionally done. I imagine that I'll tackle a handful of simpler projects before jumping to the big one described below.

Desired "final" project:
Entertainment center with proper room for my center speaker (too wide to fit most off-the-shelf entertainment centers), integrated vents, exhaust fans and power strips, and lockable doors. It would store at least a computer (max size - 4U rack-sized, currently a Mac mini), a receiver, and maybe a blu-ray player in the future. It would also house, of course, the center speaker and maybe the subwoofer. It would have to support a ~55 inch LCD as well.

What I really need to know is what tools I'll need. I'm assuming that I'll need at least the following:
- drill/drill bits/screwdriver bits
- hole saw
- sandpaper
- miter saw
- clamps

Am I missing anything obvious? Is there any need for a planer or table saw to do this?

Grtechguy
Grtechguy PowerDork
9/5/12 8:09 a.m.

Miter saw is great for narrow pieces. You're not cutting plywood with it.

A circular saw with a guide would be a better choice. A belt driven table saw is the best.

A planer? If you're buying a mix of wood. You might look into a router for beveled edges as well.

All cheap on CL.

RossD
RossD UltraDork
9/5/12 8:28 a.m.

Allen wrenches, but they normal come in the box.

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 UltraDork
9/5/12 8:30 a.m.

Cheap craftsman table saw is one of the first woodworking tools I ever bought. I've used it a ton. Haven't built much furniture, per se, but I have made a few bookcases, and a nice aquarium cabinet/stand.

A dado blade in a table saw can do some neat stuff.

scardeal
scardeal Dork
9/5/12 8:48 a.m.