1 2
tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
7/6/20 10:58 p.m.

I dropped and broke the screen on my Pixel 2 tonight. I'm a bit sad. I paid $135 on ebay about a year ago, and it has been pretty great. The charging port got weak in terms of retention. The battery got a bit weaker, but otherwise all was well. I liked the great camera I use it a lot. I never felt that it was slow. I use Consumer Cellular. I think that's the reason that I had relatively high call drop rates.

It looks that buying the replacement screen and swapping it is prohibitively close to the cost of the phone.

What's the current standard replacement for that level of performance without spending anything?

tuna55
tuna55 MegaDork
7/7/20 7:48 a.m.

Bump for the day crowd

Apexcarver
Apexcarver UltimaDork
7/7/20 7:50 a.m.

I'm happy with my Pixel 3a...

I am far from an expert though. 

Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter)
Tom_Spangler (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
7/7/20 8:00 a.m.

Yeah, Pixel 3a is generally the go-to in the mid range. Unfortunately they just stopped making it, and the 4a isn't out yet, so we're in a bit of a dead spot. I'm sure you can still find a 3a somewhere, though.

John Welsh (Moderate Supporter)
John Welsh (Moderate Supporter) Mod Squad
7/7/20 8:20 a.m.

I like th Motorola products.  I have been using a Moto G7 Power.  My wife just did a drop/break of her Moto G6 so I put her in the Moto G(8) Power.  What I like about Moto's Power-series is that they have enormous batteries. At  5,000 mAh battery it is nearly twice as much battery as most phones.  

I will confess though that the camera is only okay.  It meets my needs but if you want a better camera you might drop the Power-series in favor of another Moto offering that will trade off the robust battery for a more robust camera.  

Bought new, off the Moto site, their phone run from $150 to $300.  Also can be bought unlocked from Best Buy, usually in-stock so as to not have to wait for shipping.

dps214
dps214 HalfDork