1 2 3
SVreX
SVreX SuperDork
2/26/12 8:00 p.m.

Anybody here adept at 3D modeling?

Is it your business, your hobby, your passion?

What do you do with it? What do you hope to do with it?

Inquiring minds want to know.

JamesMcD
JamesMcD Reader
2/26/12 8:17 p.m.

I bend SolidWorks to my will for a living.

BradLTL
BradLTL GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
2/26/12 8:20 p.m.

I have some stuff I will post in the morning. I studied CAD in school, but didn't want it for a job. I left it alone for 10 years or so and then started doing it again in conjunction with my Challenge car build.

slopecarver
slopecarver New Reader
2/26/12 8:37 p.m.

Solidworks, the current top level assembly for the project I'm working on is well over 600 parts, total saved model filesize is approaching 2gb. many of the 600 parts were assemblies that got saved as dumb parts to save space. 8gb of ram is not enough and requires caching to the hard drives. I have a request in to IT for 16gb of ram.

Oh and it is for work.

Previously I have used Pro-E and Inventor.

RedS13Coupe
RedS13Coupe Reader
2/26/12 8:41 p.m.

I do a bit of solid works when called for. Not as much as I used to.

Engineering student, used it a bit when I was building/designing cars for the school.

Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker SuperDork
2/26/12 8:43 p.m.

I can still strike a pose but my days on the catwalk are over.

SVreX
SVreX SuperDork
2/26/12 8:45 p.m.

As long as you're not showing any examples of your 3D giant purple snorklewacker.

fritzsch
fritzsch Reader
2/26/12 9:10 p.m.

I use Pro E at work. Currently routing fluid lines on big trucks. not very glorious "oh this line appears to be hitting the casting, okay ill move it 5mm." yay.

BAMF
BAMF Reader
2/26/12 9:19 p.m.

I use Solidworks at a design & custom fab studio. We have some powerful CAM software that is a SW plugin. It does make my Core I5, 8gb RAM tower seem slow.

So basically, I design and then use it for CNC output.

bluej