T.J.
T.J. PowerDork
11/26/13 12:50 a.m.

I know there are several folks who post here who work from home. I've been doing it for about 2 months now and like it. I am still an employee, not a business owner, but I flexibility in when I put in my work hours. Today, I worked 6 hours, then went out on some errands ( Dr. appt, dinner, Christmas shopping, and the grocery store). On a normal day, I would just make up the couple hours later in the week, but while I was out, I got some new tasking that had to be done.

I figure I started working again this evening around 8 pm and now it is close to 2 am. I typically go to bed around 11 or so. Now I am tired and wondering if anyone else who works from home finds themselves working strange hours.

logdog
logdog GRM+ Memberand Dork
11/26/13 4:26 a.m.

My wife works from home but she has firm hours. 830-530 she must be at her desk. They use a ton of IM and Skype to communicate. It sounds like she is in a regular office if you just walk by and listen without looking in. She works for a small software company. Most of their employees work from home and they have fired quite a few that couldn't handle it.

petegossett
petegossett GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
11/26/13 5:37 a.m.

I only work from home on occasion, but we've had other employees who due to location work from home F/T. For us it's a pretty set schedule, though I do tend to work a few extra hours per week(that's strictly a personal choice as I've only been in this career 15-months). Being IT, there could be situations that require some off-hours work, but that's rare and generally discouraged.

Datsun310Guy
Datsun310Guy PowerDork
11/26/13 6:27 a.m.

I had a home sales office for 14 years - I am now back in a real office due to a job change.

Discipline is key.There were times a big quote came up and I would be in my office on a nice summer evening working and I can hear the neighbors laughing outside. But it all evens out when it's time for a "nooner" with the wife.