1 2
OSULemon
OSULemon Reader
12/23/13 6:02 p.m.

It's no secret that I'm a recent college grad. Unlike most of my co-workers, I'm single/no kids. Although I'm saving and already have saved a good chunk for a down payment on a house some day, I know that the area I'm working in is not somewhere I want to settle down. In lieu of that...

Is it financially irresponsible to buy a car like a C5 Z06, S2000, GTO, etc that will not depreciate significantly in the next three years or so? It would be in cash, I would keep a year's emergency fund, and my 401k is maxed out, along with 6% employer contributions.

My thought was that my future life events could be funded by selling the car (I've seen it time and time again), but it never seemed like a smart idea. Seemed like having 20k sitting in the bank is the smartest option, but if I won't be using it for the near future...?

The Miata's fun, but I don't want to be minivan'd and regretful later on. Anybody older and wiser want to nudge me in the right direction?

bgkast
bgkast GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/23/13 6:08 p.m.

No

vwcorvette
vwcorvette GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/23/13 6:12 p.m.
bgkast wrote: No

Agreed!

Just enabling in the best way possible!

trucke
trucke Reader
12/23/13 6:14 p.m.

Buying a car like that is never financially responsible. Do it because you can! If you do not do it now you will always regret not making the move when you could. You have your financial house in better order than 95% of the population.

fasted58
fasted58 PowerDork
12/23/13 6:14 p.m.

Jump outta perfectly good airplanes, bungee jump and own cars like C5 Z06s and GTOs while you're young.

Ransom
Ransom GRM+ Memberand UberDork
12/23/13 6:24 p.m.

Sounds to me like you're in the habit of good decisions on that front.

I'm sure it's not the the best possible return on the money, but if you have no costs to finance it, and the depreciation is minimal, that makes it more cost-effective than a loan and depreciation on a Yaris, right?

OSULemon