jdogg
jdogg New Reader
9/24/19 9:08 p.m.

I have access to a fair amount of later Windows XP-era and early Win7-era laptops with serial ports that could be used to program standalone ECUs *looks in the direction of anyone with a Megasquirt or an old Haltech or AEM* All in good condition, most are Core2 architecture Dell. I used to run a laptop repair shop and got out of the business a few years ago, and a friend of mine took it over and runs it now and I just remembered he has all this junk sitting around.

Is this something anyone here would be interested in? They'll be cheap. I know I'm new here but I've been selling on Probetalk since 2004 and eBay back when the Dead Sea was just sick. I got an IBM T30 for my build, but right off the top I know I have a Pentium 3 1.2ghz Dell early netbook collecting dust that I bought for my build and the T30 popped up, and old IBM Thinkpads are cool. I know he has some D6xx models which are Core architecture, a couple of industrial HP's that are C2D and about on par with an IBM T60.

therieldeal
therieldeal Reader
9/24/19 10:24 p.m.

I may be interested in one.  My last serial-port-having laptop had some sort of mobo related failure, as a result i haven't been able to touch my tune in a couple years.   The "industrial HP's" sound interesting??

SkinnyG
SkinnyG UltraDork
9/24/19 11:19 p.m.

USB-Serial adapters exist.  Some work better with Megasquirt than others.  My first one was from DIY Autotune, but it developed issues. My current one is from the Tuner Studio guy.  Can't remember the web name.

therieldeal
therieldeal Reader
9/25/19 7:29 a.m.
SkinnyG said:

USB-Serial adapters exist.  Some work better with Megasquirt than others.  My first one was from DIY Autotune, but it developed issues. My current one is from the Tuner Studio guy.  Can't remember the web name.

True.  However it’s one more thing to fail (as you’ve experienced), and I don’t really like the idea of my “nice laptop” bouncing around in the race car either.