Rxbalt
Rxbalt Reader
4/30/14 5:53 a.m.

I've recently been hooked on DCS: World and IL-2: 1946, and I'm wondering if anyone else flys and what kind of setups people run.

I'm currently using an old Logitech Attack 3 joystick, and the pedals from a Wingman Formula Force as my rudder control. Works pretty well, but I'm still a fairly poor pilot.

MCarp22
MCarp22 HalfDork
4/30/14 9:26 a.m.

I'm a filthy casual, so I play War Thunder with a mouse & keyboard.

photo lagg3-1_zps725246a4.jpg

Fobroader
Fobroader New Reader
4/30/14 9:41 a.m.

I looked into getting back into a last year, but the cost of the joystick, rudder pedals and a computer worthy to run it all changed my mind.....I used to play the original Microsoft Flight Sim and some fighter ones way back in the day.

Graefin10
Graefin10 SuperDork
4/30/14 10:25 a.m.

I practice RC flying with a "Real Flight" sim. It helps for sure and crashes don't cost a thing.

Advan046
Advan046 HalfDork
4/30/14 1:09 p.m.

I used to be seriously into flying sims. Full Thrustmaster control set. I flew everything up until buying Falcon 4.0. Then life changed and I didn't have time for it. Those Falcon missions could take up to 10 hours of planning and executing if you were on a hard mission. Simulation in deed. I did enjoy the F-15 game a whole lot. I loved one mission to bomb some nuclear reactor plant where I managed to sneak into the area avoiding enemy CAP, destroy target, and then provide support for friendlies on the way out. It was an intense mission and I was happy to complete it so cleanly.

My other favorite moment was flying an actual Boeing simulator that my Dad's company worked on. I landed a 747 after several tries.

I also used to fly RC airplanes from age 13-2? and again life changed and I didn't have time or space for it. I miss the RC planes and may get back into it later.

Flew light aircraft on the way to my pilots license.

aircooled
aircooled UltimaDork
4/30/14 1:16 p.m.