1 2 3 4
octavious
octavious Reader
7/9/14 8:47 a.m.

Basic question So I am interested in DD'ing to and from work via motorcycle. I'm looking for tips, pros, cons, bike choices. I'm a newbie.

Secondary question Tips for getting the better half on board. I will wear a helmet and gear when I ride. But other tips would be helpful.

My Commute My commute is about 20 miles on way if I go on the interstate/highway with just a few stoplights. One section of this commute is a 4 lane road with stoplights, and then 17 miles or so of interstate.
The other option, and the one I like more, is 26 miles if I go the windy twisty backroad way. This way is a small stint of interstate and then all two lane backroads with just business driveways no residence driveways.

Weather I live in Knoxville TN, we have pretty good weather I think. Warm and muggy summer, cooler fall, cold winter with few snow days, and beautiful spring. We get all four seasons, but if anything I would call our winters mild.

Riding Experience I have been on 4 wheelers, manual and automatic, on and off for a few years. I took the motorcycle safety course about 10 years ago. I have NO real world road riding experience.

Longer Background There is no issue with my DD vehicle 02 Jeep Wrangler or my fun car the 76 911. This is just because I am interested in possibly commuting via motorcycle. I'll still be a "cager" as I have seen the term on other sites. This all started because I was thinking about getting a beater car due to the Jeep is getting 16-18MPG. But the cars I was looking at for $2500 or less, all look pretty crappy, and just look BORING. If I have to commute I want it to be in something I like to drive.