corsepervita
corsepervita HalfDork
3/22/21 3:43 p.m.

I posted up some pics of the viper after paint correction the other night and several people voiced interest in a paint correction thread.  So I figured, "sure why not, let's do this."

Disclaimer: I don't do this stuff for a living.  I am a computer nerd who does car things, I'm a hobbyist, should any paint pros wish to chime in with some advice, other techniques, correct me, etc, please feel free to.  I am always open to feedback and just wanted to share how I've been doing it since people were asking.  Please heed to the advice of practicing on an old fender first down below if you are new, hesitant, and need to learn from scratch.
Here is my current list of things I used on my correction, with links to where you can get all of it: 

- rotary buffer "DoBetter CarBrand 7 inch buffer"

- claybar "Chemical guys"

- Pad kit with finishing pad, 6 inch

- 3M Wetsand paper 2500 grit

- Pad Conditioner "Chemical Guys"

- Cutting Compound "CarPro ClearCut"

- Polishing Compound "CarPro Reflect"

- Bigass pack of microfiber towels 

Total bill of the above: $188.71

Ceramic coat (optional if you prefer to use a wax of your choice): $50-100

So here's where we need to start.  If you have never done this before, at all, maybe don't practice on your car.  Instead, go to a junkyard, a u-pull it, or craigslist.  Find something being parted out, get a fender for cheap.  A small one, doesn't have to be big.  Make it a dark color and if you want a real challenge, go black.  You'll learn a lot.  When you've learned, and you can make it look good, and you're happy with the fender, go scratch it up lightly with a fork, a branch, a brillo pad, and do it again.  When you are satisfied in the results over and over, and can achieve consistent results, you can move onto your car without worry of messing something up.