mikedd969
mikedd969 New Reader
10/11/18 7:19 p.m.

Greetings everyone.

I have a Ford Ranger project I'm just getting started on that is going to need some body work.   

I'm actually pretty excited at the prospect.  I'm fairly experienced with mechanical and electrical repairs and refurb work.  I've done my fair share of that stuff, but I have almost no auto body repair experience.  Part of the value of this project for me is going to be gaining experience and (hopefully) some skill in body repair and paint.

Most of what the little truck needs is simple bolt-on stuff.  It's been in an accident that resulted in some front end damage.  The most serious of which is that the radiator support is pushed back about 3/4" on the passenger side.  When I first looked at it, I didn't even notice, but on closer inspection, I can see where it is tweaked.  You can see the little crease directly in front of where the radiator ends on the right side.  

My first instinct was to get a slide-hammer and pull it back out straight, but I think it might be hard to be certain that I have it 100%, completely straight.

I thought that cutting it out and replacing it was out of the question.  It would be a real PITA to drill out all the spot welds and, since I don't currently own a welder, and it has been almost 20 years since I welded anything, that didn't seem to be something I was equipped to tackle right now.

Then I started thinking.  What if, instead of cutting out the whole thing, I just cut out most of it, leaving 3" or so on each side, then just bolt/screw in a new (junkyard) section?  That seems a lot easier, but would it be strong and stiff enough?  

Then I remembered reading somewhere that a lot of body shops today use high-strength adhesives where the factory originally used spot welds when they are repairing damage.