StripesSA1
StripesSA1 Reader
2/13/22 4:37 a.m.

Disclaimer number 1

I am NOT a professional bicycle technician nor did I get any professional training to do any of this. I just go with my gut feelings. Especially when something has a clear warning NOT to do it, and I can see how it CAN be done. 

Disclaimer number 2

High end bottom brackets in South Africa is crazy expensive, so I wanted to try something with this one and see if I can save it, and save some money. 

StripesSA1
StripesSA1 Reader
2/13/22 4:49 a.m.

So with that out of the way, let's get this thing going

The victim: SHIMANO SM BB70 bottom bracket 

Th reason:

I am building a 26" Kona Coiler that my BIL gave me in pieces. Among those pieces were some cranks, and no bottom bracket. So I went and bought a generic one from one our LBS, but now the cranks are hitting the chainstays. So either I buy other cranks, and risk the same thing happening, or I upgrade to higher quality components. The last seemed the best solution, so I searched for one off these, but with cranks included. 

Then I saw a post on a local bicycle forum, were the seller advertised the bottom bracket and cranks for a third what the individual components would cost when you buy them new and separate. 

After paying, and receiving, the set, I saw why he was replacing them. Slop, wear, gritty and blown bearing on the non drive side. So I thought of just cleaning and regreasing everything as per a 100 videos on the 'Tube. 

When I got it open, I saw a standard cartridge roller ball bearing. This might look removable and replacable. 

As can be seen in one of the above photo's, it explicitly states, "Do Not Dissamble". What ever...... 

StripesSA1
StripesSA1 Reader
2/13/22 4:55 a.m.

So step one will be, depending on how you get your BB, is either to remove it or stare at it. Again, if you don't know how, best not to attempt this, as later on you are going to need a hammer and a light touch.