ACO awards Spirit of Le Mans trophy to IMSA, NASCAR Chairman Jim France

By Colin Wood
May 24, 2022 | 24 Hours of Le Mans

Photography Courtesy ACO

Every year, the Automobile Club de l’Ouest awards the Spirit of Le Mans trophy to “the men and women who uphold the values of enduring racing by their commitment, team spirit and competitive drive.” For 2022, the trophy will be given to IMSA and NASCAR Chairman Jim France.

The award follows the 2020 agreement that helped to establish classes that could run in under both sanctioning bodies: Le Mans Hypercar and Le Mans Daytona h, now known as IMSA GTP

As well, the ACO has named two-time Le Mans winner Gérard Larrousse as Grand Marshall, with TotalEnergies CEO Patrick Pouyanné serving as this year's starter.

The 2022 Le Mans 24 is set for June 11-12, with a start time 4:00 p.m. local time.

Visit for more information.

Join Free Join our community to easily find more 24 Hours of Le Mans news.
View comments on the GRM forums
Our Preferred Partners