Mazda Announces U.S. Drivers for Inaugural Mazda MX-5 Cup Global Invitational

By Ed Higginbotham
Aug 16, 2016 | Mazda

Mazda has announced the ten drivers representing the United States at the Global Mazda MX-5 Cup Invitational taking place at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The select group of U.S. drivers are a diverse unit comprised of past champions, rookies, teenagers and retired executives. Racers will compete with others from across the globe in two non-points, invitation-only races on September 9-11, 2016 as part of a Mazda-exclusive weekend that features both the Mazda Road to Indy and the Mazda Road to 24.

The drivers representing the United States are the following:

John Dean II, Sick Sideways Racing, Sebring, Florida
Mark Drennan, Winding Road Team TFB, San Jose, California
Robby Foley, Atlanta Motorsports Group, Randolph, New Jersey
Ara Malkhassian, ALARA Racing, Houston, Texas
Glenn McGee, Sick Sideways Racing, Tampa, Florida
Sarah Montgomery, ALARA Racing, Lafayette, Louisiana
Tim Probert, ALARA Racing, Houston, Texas
Nathanial Sparks, Sick Sideways Racing
Chris Stone, ALARA Racing, Salt Lake City, Utah
Aurora Straus, McCumbee-McAleer Racing, Cold Springs, New York

The Global Competitors: The nine international racers, selected and hosted by Mazda affiliates in Japan, Europe, and Australia, are as follows:

Oliver Allwood – United Kingdom
Erik Blixit – Sweden
Anthony Crawford – Australia
Kamil Franczak - Poland
Gabriele Gardel – Switzerland
Enami Kitahira – Japan
Moritz Kranz – Germany
Mike Sinclair - Australia
Yuui Tsutsumi – Japan

Want all the latest motorsports news delivered right to your mailbox, eight times per year? Subscribe to Grassroots Motorsports now
Join Free Join our community to easily find more Mazda news.
View comments on the GRM forums
Our Preferred Partners